TheReadEye

"We read to know that we are not alone." — C.S. Lewis

“Winter Blom” and other holiday reads

It is the season of the holiday novella, and in that spirit, I wrote and released “Winter Blom” as part of my Ashe Sentinel Connections series. When I started the story of Andy Blom, I wasn’t sure if I would finish it, much less publish it before Christmas. I was on a tight timetable, and I’d begun the story mostly on a whim.

But my characters came to life on the page, and I found myself not only committed to the story of Andy Blom and Lane Cross (and son Zach Cross), but my “holiday short story” ended up being the longest novella in my series to date, coming in at nearly 41,000 words.

If you like my other books, give this one a try. I like to think it’s the best one in the series, but I’ll let you be the judge of that. “Winter Blom” is available on Amazon and through Kindle Unlimited and Kindle Lending Library. Get it here

Other holiday novellas to read

There are plenty of other holiday novellas worth a look. First and foremost, I recommend the Wish Come True holiday anthology. I actually won the book in a blog giveaway, and there are several moving stories by respected m/m genre authors such as Kaje Harper, Anyta Sunday and Joanna Chambers. The proceeds of this work are going to charity, so there’s added incentive to buy a copy. Get it here

Humbug, by Joanna Chambers, is another great read. Warning: Joanna has a real talent for making sentimental readers (like me) shed a few tears on the way to their happy ending. But hey, it’s cathartic, right? I like a good cry. Get “Humbug” here. 

“What Happens at Christmas,” by Jay Northcote. I credit this novella, over any other, for inspiring me to write a holiday novella of my own. It’s a sweet friends to lovers romance. This book is also exclusive to Amazon, and can be found on Kindle Unlimited. Get it here

Author RJ Scott has released her “Christmas Collection,” which includes “Angel in a Bookshop,” “Jesse’s Christmas” and “Deefur and the Great Mistletoe Incident.” I’ve also heard great things about “The Christmas Throwaway.” Get the “Christmas Collection” here.

I hope you’ll add “Winter Blom” to your favorites. While it’s set over the holidays, the themes in the story go beyond the holidays to insecurity and grief and connection that I would hope hold true any time of year.

Book Description for Winter Blom

Winter BlomAndy Blom is an unpaid winter intern at The Ashe Sentinel, and right away he gets saddled with an “evergreen” – otherwise known as a boring feature that can run anytime over the holiday season. To his dismay, he’s assigned to write about a construction worker who creates metal art. The story wouldn’t be so bad, but he’s uneasy about meeting a macho guy who will no doubt find Andy just a little too … gay. Even if he is in the (fairly transparent) closet. But as it turns out, Lane Cross isn’t what he expects. In fact, Lane is a man of many contradictions, not the least of which is that a man like him could want Andy.

Lane Cross works construction to pay the bills, and makes metal art to … also pay the bills. As a single dad, the enjoyment of his art has taken a backseat to making ends meet. And his love life has taken a back seat to caring for his son, especially when Zach, age 6, sabotages every baby-sitting attempt Lane makes.

Then Lane meets Andy Blom. The man’s Swedish name meaning bloom is perfect for him: Andy is refreshingly sweet and vibrant – even if he gets a bit thorny at any hint that he’s anything but strong and self-reliant. And Lane’s son loves him, which only intensifies the attraction. But when Lane moves too fast, will he scare away the surprisingly innocent young man – or will Andy’s journalistic ethics end them before they ever begin?

“Winter Blom,” a holiday novella, is the fourth book in the Ashe Sentinel series. There are very minor spoilers if you read it before the other novellas. However, it can be read as a stand-alone.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

